Wednesday, December 29, 2010

Ken's Take: Key Moments

Picture by The Ken with his Samsung Transform using Vignette
And it's Wednesday, which means it's time for a lil something from Ken. I bet you were thinking, "It's getting kind of late, I don't think Ken's going to post." Well, BAM! There here yea go!

So I was browsing lists of animes, as I often do this time of year, looking for a new series to watch since most of my current ones are/will be finishing up when I had a revelation. I've watched a lot of frickin anime. All of the recommendations off of the ones I've been watching I've seen already, it's like I've come full circle. Maybe I'll re-watch one? I don't really follow any blogs or anything and I can't read any form of Japanese so I'm pretty much in the dark until new shows start popping up. I know I need to watch Darker than Black, so that's at least on the roster as well as Dragonball Kai. But aside from those, that's about it. Considering I'm usually following around 5-6 at a time (relax, it's like 20 minutes an episode cause I don't have to watch commercials and I can skip the intros and end credits) only having 2 is not really that comforting. I'm sure I'll come across something, the question is what? I'm looking forward to it though, whatever it is. Although highly idealized and often ridiculous, I think it's interesting that you can find some genuine thought provoking concepts in animes that aren't at all designed as such.

Tuesday, December 28, 2010

Magnificent Monday Tuesday: The 3am Post

Picture by The Ken via his phone.
And so it's Tuesday, and an early one at that. I got home pretty darn late Sunday night and didn't feel like blogging, then Monday was pretty much a no go, so I opted to not blog instead of doing a really crappy one. As such, I am now writing this post and boy oh boy do I have a way to start the week off.
So, first off let me say that everything is just fine, however I'm currently sitting in an ER room next to my wife who became rather ill over the course of the day today (yesterday?) It's looking like a pretty bad case of a stomach bug, but after some stomach meds and a little bit of morphine she seems to be feeling pretty good. I'm not gonna lie though, I'm pretty sleep deprived right now having only gotten around 5 hours of sleep from Friday to Saturday, 6 hours from Saturday to Sunday, and another 6 from Sunday to Monday. I'm now going on my 17th hour of no sleep for the day and let me tell you, I should have gotten some damned seep last night when I had the chance. Maybe this'll give me the motivation I need to get to sleep in a timely manner each night. The fact that maybe, just maybe, I'll need to pull an all-nighter the net day.

Wednesday, December 22, 2010

Ken's Take: It's Beginning to Look Kind of, Sort of Like Christmas...


As you can see here, there is a key time during the Christmas rush when you should do your Christmas shopping. Exactly 5 days prior to Christmas, i.e. the 20th of December,there is a temporary lull in the stupidity of pedestrians where the level of driver stupidity surpasses that of the pedestrian. It is during this time that you are less likely to be at fault if a car ends up hitting you and thus have your presents scattered about the parking lot. Take note that this does not decrease the chances of being actually being hit by a car during this time. That statistic is much too severe to even be mentioned.

It's Wednesday, and in three more days, four if you count today, a large number of the population will be taking part in a tradition wherein members of the family gather together in order to exchange gifts. It is currently speculated that the exchange of gifts has the dual purpose of an acknowledgement of peace between parties, often between members of different families, and as some method of conditioning for the offspring by correlating the number of presents with obedience of the child. It would also appear that parents use this time to teach their children the power of Big Brother through a being named Santa Clause who can, and will, break into your home and knows full well throughout the course of the year what kind of person you've been through extensive surveillance. However, in order to reinforce a positive image, parents dictate that Santa is a good thing because he brings you presents. This, ladies and gentlemen, is why I will not be doing the whole Santa thing with my children.

Monday, December 20, 2010

Magnificent Monday: Maturity?

Picture by Wonderlane via Flickr.com

And so it's Monday, yet again. Always. Monday. I kind of feel bad for Monday really. It gets the crap end of the stick when it comes to the work place. I feel like Mondays should be given some sort of compensation for starting off the work week. Like a siesta or something. That'd be cool.

After reviewing my previous post on Wednesday, I realized what an interesting thing. My post was actually more than just random, humorous gibberish. It actually held some amount of usefulness. I think... I think this may be a sign that my writing has begun to... to... mature ever so slightly...

Wednesday, December 15, 2010

Ken's Take: Balance Grasshopper

Picture by Hamed Saber via Flickr.com
"Hey Ken! Where was the post from Monday? I thought you said you were going to be more consistent?" Well, I am being consistent, I'm keeping the balance. Remember the Ken's Take that I gave a day off at the beginning of the month? Yeah? Well, after that Magnificent Monday wanted a day off too, so I was a bit obligated to oblige. "You forgot, didn't you?" Silence! I kill you!

And so, it's Wednesday again. If you absolutely must know why I did not post on Monday, it's because, well... I may or may not have gotten the new expansion for WoW, i.e. Cataclysm. (In case you're wondering, no, the graphics are not that good in the actual game. And thank goodness for that because I think that my computer would have a hernia trying to play the content.) So... I got a little pre-occupied Sunday evening. Oh yeah, that's when I write these posts btw, (or try to at least) the night before as a general rule of thumb. That would be why they are posted at 6:00 am (again, at least they should be.) If you thought that I woke up at 5:00 am just to write a post for you, well then, you were mistaken. Although, not out of the realm of possibility, there are only three real reasons for me to be up that early.

Wednesday, December 8, 2010

Ken's Take: It's a Holly Jolly-OMG SANTA'S COMING!!!!

(Photo by kevindooley via Flickr.com)

It's Wednesday, and that means it's time for that post. The one that shows up to your Halloween party in khakis and a a t-shirt that has "Unfrigginbelievable" spelled out on it and calls themselves the god of PNWage. The one that you talk to at the water cooler with certain sense of respect because you know last Saturday it beat the living crap out of someone at a certain club that you go to. The one that will happily supply you with a kitten and a pair of boxing gloves after a bad break-up. The one that will always be there, whether you want them to be or not, watching your back, in a "I just wanted to test out my new night vision goggles and I thought you'd understand" sort of way. That post.

Today's title was inspired by two things: this clip, and the fact that the holiday season has officially kicked in. How do I know this? Well, simply put, I noticed that my neighbors put up Christmas lights and tinsel. That's about it. ... Oh! And Starbucks has their Christmas-y (Christmas-ee? Christmas-ie?) drinks out now, and thus the holiday season was been born out of wedlock between a surge of consumer spending and corporate marketing. Honestly though, 'tis the season to be jolly. It really is! It also happens to be one of the only times I can say 'tis without getting weird looks. And during this marvelous season we are reminded of the things that matter through: Santa, gifts, in-laws, eggnog, and any other assortment of items only really available during this time of year.

Monday, December 6, 2010

Magnificent Monday: Magnificent Fail

It's Monday again, and that means that it's once again time for one of those posts. You know what I mean that post. The one that brings you coffee and the comic section of the paper in the morning. The one who will point out your new hair cut and compliment you on it. The one that will offer to be Tails during Sonic the Hedgehog 2. That post.

So.... It's December again, and that means I'm going to be picking up the mantle of posting again. "But Ken, you could have posted something on the first, it was a Wednesday after all." Yes, yes, I'm very aware of the fact that I could have posted then. But when I went to, the section of my brain that processes Ken's Take basically gave me the finger and told me to F off. And so... I decided to start with Monday. So let's begin with an update:

Monday, November 1, 2010

NanoWrimo 2010



The month of November is upon us. What this means is simply that the month of October has officially passed. I'll be honest. October was not a very consistent/blog-friendly month. I've been busy with school, time management, lab work, life, time management, homework... that sort of thing. However, to be perfectly honest I'm really thinking that this next month will be better for blogging... sort of...

Wednesday, October 13, 2010

Ken's Take: Suit Up

So apparently it's International Suit Up day today and yes, I did in fact decide to participate. I actually have no idea what International Suit Up Day is about except that it's a day where you dress up in a suit. Aside from that I saw an event on facebook, though it'd be fun, and thus am now wearing a fairly decent suit while typing away at my lab. If you must know I am not slacking, I am working on a problem that is super frustrating for me and so am taking a moment to chill.

Here's the thing, I kind of suck as this whole posting consistently thing. I completely spaced out on Monday. I've made a note on my calendar to try and prevent it from occurring again, no promises though. So it's October... And it's starting to get cold. Already twice have I walked out into the night expecting to be swept up into a small bundle of warm blankets made of the desert's night air and instead received a not so delightful shock of cold air. Not kool. Air.... Not kool...

Wednesday, October 6, 2010

Ken's Take: Catch Up


So here's the thing. My left leg from the knee down hurts. Like a constant throbbing sort of pain that's just plain irritating. Where did this pain come from? I'll tell you where, from a chupacabra attack! That's not true, it's from riding my long board too much. Most likely I've developed a bit of tendinitis and will just stop riding my board around for a while. But then, once I'm better, I'll come back with renewed strength and power up, just like Pikachu! (Also, in actuality Pikachu was not that great in the games, just saying. I'd rather have a Charizard.)

Monday, October 4, 2010

Magnificent Monday: Button Mashing


Once again Monday has arrived. This week though, it's different. It's personal. This week we will be discussing the ramifications of a technique referred to button mashing on the greater martial combat genre of video games. Alternatively we can talk about what happens when you forget about any given fresh produce in the back of your fridge for some months. (Hint: nothing good.)

Monday, September 27, 2010

Magnificent Monday: Unannounced Leave of Absence


It's Monday, and that means it's time for yet another exciting week of life. Some of you may be asking, "Ken, what happened? Where did you go?" Well my friends, to be perfectly honest, I just kind of fell apart. But I'm back up and running again and next time I take an extended hiatus I'll be sure to let you guys know about it.

Today I met a girl riding the bus on the way to class. I'll spare her name, however I eventually came to find out two things:
1. She was 14.
2. She had just gotten kicked out of her house.
I was surprised by this information to say the least. Luckily, from what I can say, things look like they'll work out just fine for her. She's got a network of support from friends and others that are willing to support her.

I just thought that it was an interesting way to start off the week, meeting this person. It was a bit of a reminder of where I've come from. Something that seems so far away. I'm glad that I've had the opportunity to remember. Recently, I've been rather unmotivated. I don't have a just cause to rally myself behind. I don't have a solid dream to chase after. And honestly, it's all a lot of hard work.

However, I suppose it builds character. Life isn't easy is it? It'd be nice if it were. But damn, wouldn't that be boring? I guess from here I suppose my goal will be to simply do my best. I don't think one could ask for anything more than that.

And so for you, my dear readers, I entice you to do just that this week.

Do your best. In everything. Whatever it is, if you decide to do it, give it all you've got. Give it your best damn effort and pray it's good enough. And if it's not, then get better. Become stronger. Stand up, and run. Run towards tomorrow and another week. I'll be right there with you.

-Ken
[EDIT]: Added tags.

Tuesday, September 14, 2010

Magnificent Monday: Error 404

Today is Monday. Tomorrow is Tuesday. Tuesday, the 14th of September. The release date of HALO:Reach. For those of you not in the know, this is my thing. I've spent the past 24 hours doing homework and preparing enough time to play this game. I'm currently at Best Buy on Broadway Blvd across from Park Place Mall waiting in line for the midnight release. So... I apologize to my readers for the lack of a Monday posts today, although this counts technically I suppose. Also, I apologize for the Wednesday post in advanced, just in case. See you on the far side.
[EDIT]: I gots it!!!! It comes wit Swordz!!!!!!!!
[EDIT 2]: Added tags.

Tuesday, September 7, 2010

Magnificent Monday Tuesday: Labored Movement

Today is Monday Tuesday, and that means that it's time to start the week off. Well, at least the rest of it since it's already kind of late. Yesterday was Labor Day, and thus, in accordance with the national holiday, I held off on posting. Yeah... that's exactly what happened... Um... Have some listening music!

Yesterday was the Damascus Road Volley Ball Tournament, which my team won (GO TEAM GOKU!), and let me just say that playing in sand is way harder than I remember it being! Truth be told my feet are still sore. But hey, it was a lot of fun and super worth it in my opinion. Although it got me thinking about what kind of physical shape I'm in. The honest answer: not good.

This got me thinking a little more about why that was. Why was it so difficult to work out from time to time? Do I not have enough time? This, it would seem, was the best answer, but then again my physical health should be a high enough priority on my list to warrant a time slot in my schedule. Perhaps it is a problem of motivation? For me this very much seems to be the case as I'm sure it is for many others. Where's the motivation? I mean, there are all sorts of reasons people throw in.

-Be healthier.
-Look better, slimmer, fitter.
-Sports.
-Etc.

For me though, the best motivation is probably combat. The idea that maybe one day I'll have a need to be physically fit. Up until this point though, logic has dictated that this simply is not the case. At least, that's what I use to justify my reasons. But alas, the time has come to do away with this type of reasoning. A friend of mine has recently moved into town and I know that if I am to survive any amount of sparring with him, I will need to be physically fit, else it might mean getting a whack to the face with a bokken.

So I suppose my question for the week is, do you work out and stay physically fit? If so, what's your motivation? If not, why don't you?

Have a healthy week!

-Ken
[EDIT]: Added tags.

Wednesday, September 1, 2010

Ken's Take: Nothing Ultimate about Ultimate Frisbee



It's Wednesday and the Ken is feeling a bit under the weather today. Thankfully I had a chance to sleep in and got an extra few hours of sleep, however it does not seem to have been enough to cure me. Instead of a picture today, I figured I'd treat you all to a little something extra since I'm running late again today. Enjoy.

Ultimate, also known as (a.k.a.) Ultimate Frisbee, is a sport that is widely known as being many things ranging from tiring, to long, to boring, to a trademark ripoff. However, today I want to discuss the nomenclature of this sport. Join me after the break to hear my case.

Monday, August 30, 2010

Magnificent Monday: Bad Habits Rise Early



So... It's Monday again, which marks the beginning of the second week of school. I've already noticed a couple things, mainly that my procrastination has somehow resurfaced in full force. I should've followed rule #4 and double-tapped that sucker. Whatever though, have some listening music while you read. I think it'll be a nice way to start the day off, just imagine that the song's about you... or don't if you're a guy cause that's a bit weird.

So... That weird monstrosity that you see above is actually my google calendar. The green things at the top are my tasks, ie: homework and what not and the rest of it is... well stuff that I have planned. Okay, you caught me. I don't actually do any of this stuff. In reality I have a pet monkey named The Joe Joe that just kind of screws around on the computer all day. What you see is his current masterpiece.

Wednesday, August 25, 2010

Ken's Take: The Guy in the Hat



And it's Wednesday, the third day of the new semester, and time to partake in a little ritual called reading about whatever Ken happens to feel like talking about. Today we'll be talking a little about the meaning of life as well as what it really means to be an art lover. Actually, that's not entirely true. I really just brought up the art thing to justify the comic above. It's from a site called xkcd. If you haven't taken a look at it, I really, really suggest it, you won't regret it.

So last post I talked a little bit about the concept of starting this semester off with a bang and really doing what you can to make this semester, well, not suck, or rather be awesome. Not sucking doesn't necessarily mean that the semester was awesome, just that it wasn't... sucky... Anyway, my point in bringing all of this up has to do with one thing. One simple little thing. My hat. I like my hat.

Monday, August 23, 2010

Magnificent Monday: Server Restart

"The server will be restarting in 15...10...5...4...2...1..." When I see this message, the above reaction isn't entirely unheard of...

And it's Monday once again. I apologize for that reference, however I am sure there is a very select few of you (although it's not that difficult of a reference) that will find it humorous. Anyways, the whole server restart thing is because today, my dear readers, marks the first day of classes for the new semester. (At least here at the UofA)

What does this mean? Well, simply put, it's time for a bit of a change. It means that it's time to get up, get my boots on, and PWN. Summer's officially over, and Fall Semester is in high gear. Now today I would like to start off by evaluating my success from last week's final list.

1. I read all of this past week's XKCD comics plus today's.
2. I made a crockpot meal. However, its edibility is... questionable...
3. My Fall Semester 2010 To Do List is still in progress, I'm giving myself till the end of the week for this.
4. My short story so far is still in the drawing board stages. I started writing, however, I quickly realized that the characters will need significantly more depth to make the plot line work. So, I scrapped what I had and am making the characters just that, more in depth.
5. Well, school's starting and I'm just about as ready as can be, what with my pencil, notebooks, and other various items such as books and such.

Not too shabby in my opinion. I managed to at least touch base on just about everything. It seems that I nailed down the technique just as I stopped using it. Well I guess that's just how it goes. Maybe I'll make use of it later on. Let's talk a bit more about the outlook of the semester after the break.

Thursday, August 19, 2010

Ken's Take: On Being a Gamer

Hello Everyone, it's Wednesday, and that means that it's time for Ken's Take! Today we're going to have some listening music while you read my delight writing, enjoy.

Here's the thing folks, being a gamer is hard. I'll wait while you stem your laughter for this is not a matter to take into light consideration! In today's modern age it is essential that the world understand how difficult gamers have it! In an effort to bring the world out of ignorance, I have composed a very useful top ten list of reasons why gamers have it rough these days. Here we go after the break.

Monday, August 16, 2010

Magnificent Monday: Bad Habits


And it's Monday again. And I'm running late in my posting again. I feel like this is starting to become a bad habit. Take note please that I tried to find a decent picture of a bad habit. Instead for literally every kind of search I did this lolcatz pic showed up. On every, freaking one. So... I figured I'd let him have his spotlight.

Alright, let's get some things out of the way. Last week I was supposed to:
1. Finish the Coffee Table.
2. Play 20 songs on DDR.
3. Shoot and make 5 free-throws.
4. Figure out the dinner party thing.
5. Make a crockpot meal.

In actuality I:
1. Forgot.
2. Am too out of shape to do all 20.
3. Don't want to talk about this one. It was FAIL.
4. Thought about it a bit harder, failed to find a notecard, and then gave up.
5. Gathered the appropriate materials.

I did manage to:
1. Play Rockband for the first time in a while.
2. Finish 2 arcs of Starcraft II (The final protoss level is unreasonably depressing.)
3. See an amazing movie, namely Scott Pilgram vs The World. (I also have a new favorite celeb crush, it's the goggles.
4. Give a friggin' awesome presentation in my lab. Hurray Data!
5. Work on my story. (More on this after the link.)

Wednesday, August 11, 2010

Ken's Take: Pre-Gaming for Restaurants

Alright, it's Wednesday (or what's left of it) and that means it's time to give my personal opinion on the workings of the world. If you must know why I am so late in my post, I took the day off from work yesterday, and thus my days are completely screwy. I was under the impression for most of the day that it was Tuesday and that I'd be able to write my post later. Alas, I was mistaken, and am now posting a few measly hours before my deadline...

Alright, so... something I've learned this evening is that I need to pre-game when I go to hang out at the local pub. What do I mean by pre-gaming? I mean food! Food, the life giving substance of our days...

...

That was poorly worded.

...

Anyways, I've come to find that when I go out, I tend to go out when I've not eaten pretty much all day. What does this mean? Well it means that whenever I get to where ever I'm going, I have a tendency to order something that is rather large and certain to sate my appetite. However, usually do to a lack of food throughout the day, my stomach is not at its max elasticity and thus I am unable to finish my meal or I do and then have a stomach ache afterwards. Thus, I've decided that maybe it's time that I start pre-gaming restaurants. Any thoughts on the matter? Good idea? Bad Idea? Possibly a good idea depending on the circumstances? Let me know.

-Ken

PS: Sorry for the briefness of the post, but I'm a lil busy preparing for my new post this Saturday. =)

[EDIT]: Added tags.

Monday, August 9, 2010

Magnificent Monday: Decision



It's Monday, and that means it's time for my weekly update to kick the week off right. Let's try and be a little inspirational here so that the week sucks a little bit less because, let's be honest here, that's why you're reading this now. Isn't it? Freaked out are you? Don't worry too much about it, it's a little something I've got called mind control.

Now then, here's the thing. There are some weeks that I just completely fail at what I planned on doing. However, instead of following through with these plans often I find that I spend my time doing something else that is usually pretty awesome. Now I am determined to prove that I do not simply choose not to do things and that in fact my life is very busy! How will I do this? I don't know. A little help there would be nice. Maybe a collage or something...

So I've decided to be positive about how I go about this whole update by the number thing, so here we go:
1. I finished Matthew.
2. The Super Complex Dinner Party Mystery is in fact done. However, I am yet to find a medium to properly translate my amazing thoughts into reality.
3. I did a set of push-ups the other day.
4. UofA is just plain silly sometimes. Also, so is the Spanish department sometimes.
5. Sleep is over rated. Starcraft, WoW, HALO, and writing outlines for short stories is not.

That wasn't so bad. I kind of like this whole "be positive" thing. Now then, for this next week, here are a few things that I'd like to get done:

1. The Coffee Table.
3. Play 20 songs on DDR.
5. Shoot and make 5 free-throw shots.
7. Find a medium for my awesome, amazing dinner party mystery.
11. Prepare a meal in my crockpot.

There we go, those are my goals for the week. Are they too simple? Maybe. But they're easy to do. I like them. And actually, I think it's time I gave you more of a reason to be reading this thing besides my extreme awesomeness. I am giving you all a task.
If you're reading this, I'll assume you want to participate, so let's get started.

Choose one of the following to do over the course of the next week:
1. Give 1 compliment to someone different each day. (7 days, 7 compliments, 7 people.)
2. Perform a random act of kindness for a stranger.
3. Do something that is better for your health.

Let me know how it goes in the comments section, I'd love to hear about it.

Have a Smashing Week!

-Ken
[EDIT]: Added tags.

Wednesday, August 4, 2010

Ken's Take: Time for an Upgrade

So as it turns out, the buses throughout the city are on strike. Found this out after working for 2 hours to get to my lab. Yeah... I gotta start listening to NPR on a more regular basis...

So... I recently celebrated my 2 year anniversary and my wife, the awesome woman that she is, got me Starcraft II as a gift.

Am I Excited? (I capitalized the E because it looked weird otherwise.)

Immensely.

Tuesday, August 3, 2010

Magnificent Tuesday: 2 Years + 1 Day

I knew it. I knew this day was coming. The day where I'd need to post, but have no back up and thus inevitably miss my posting deadline. *sigh* Will this teach me to have back-up posts? Maybe. Maybe not. Maybe I've scheduled some time and we'll see what comes of it...

So for those of you unaware, yesterday was my two year anniversary. Consequentially, I spent the majority of the day hanging out and spending some time with my lovely wife and thus spent little to no (emphasis on the no part) time blogging. Let's hope that this is the last magnificent Tuesday we have. For those of you who still hold some sort of grudge, I will try to win back your good graces by pointing you to this site. If cute and cuddly pictures of kitties doesn't sway you, well then, may ceiling cat help you.

Wednesday, July 28, 2010

Ken's Take: Tarboy

Sorry, sorry, sorry! I'm running super behind today! Hopefully this doesn't leak into other things.... brb. Okay, I'm back. So...it's Wednesday (does anyone else sound it out as wed-nes-day when they spell it?) and that means it's time for me to make my mark, in a sense. Today we'll be talking about something that's taken over the entirety of the musical aspect of my phone.

So... I've got a confession to make, I kind of, really like flash animations. There's an amazing site called Newgrounds.com that I discovered when I was a wee lad. And so now every now and then I'll go over there and take a peek. Now here's the thing about flash movies. A LOT of them suck. And I don't mean the, "well it's kind of bearable if you can see the author's perspective" I mean in the "omfg-I-want-those-five-minutes-of-my-life-back-kill-kill-KILL!!!" sort of way. Thankfully the site has a rating system and I've been able to find a few little gems there, such as Tarboy.

Monday, July 26, 2010

Magnificent Monday: Lost and Found?

And... it's that time of the week again. The time where we all pummel our alarms in the hope that their death will mean that the new week hasn't quite started yet and that you'll get to sleep in.

So... right now the cat is locked in the bathroom because the carpet guys are here giving the floor a deep scrubbin'. Between all of the furniture being moved, her hiding spot under the bed disappearing, and random people coming in and bring strange, loud devices with them, she is none too happy. I can just hear her crying out, "What is this?!? There's something wrong with the house! I don't like change!"

If you didn't click the link, you should. Like right now. Do it. Just do it. I won't evaluate this next week until you do. I mean it! Don't you dare click that "read more" link until you're seen my very funny clip!

Saturday, July 24, 2010

New Post Topics on Fridays or Saturdays?

Hey everyone, so I've been thinking of doing a bit more writing in a given week, namely a post on Friday or Saturday. I am actually of maybe doing a short story of sorts, with say a chapter a week or every other week. Or perhaps some poetry? Reviews of movies? A sort of traveler's log for World of Warcraft where you. A lore post about the lore of various mythological figures. All sorts of things. Whatever the case may be, I'd like a little bit of input on your part since you'll all be the ones reading it, so we'll do this the democratic way.


I'd only be spending about an hour on each post (researching, writing, etc.) unless the post called for something extra like playing WoW or watching a movie, but keep that in mind while you vote I suppose. Also, only 1 vote a person please.

-Ken

[UPDATE]: So... The blogpolls server seems to be down right about now, if it isn't up by the end of the day I'll set up another poll elsewhere. Last I had checked, which was last night, the results were 25% across the board for all four of the first options. Meaning... we're back at square 1 still. Let's see what happens. (7/27/10 10:07am MST)

[UPDATE:] The server is back up! Whoo! (7/27/10 2:52pm MST)

Wednesday, July 21, 2010

Ken's Take: New Beginnings

So... I really did like the idea of Gamer's Take on Wednesdays, however over the past couple posts I found it to be lacking in something. Turns out that quality was my own personal touch. A post called Gamer's Take is simply too... limiting. I felt rather constrained having to talk about gaming only as opposed to what I wanted, thus something was missing. Therefore, I propose a radically simple idea. Remove the Limitation.

I am free.

I'll write about what I want to here, philosophy, history, gaming, anime, friends, life, God. Whatever I choose.

Yes.

I think that I'm going to start enjoying Wednesdays just a little bit more.

-Ken

[EDIT]: Added tags.

Monday, July 19, 2010

Magnificent Monday: Catch-up

And it's Monday, once again, and once again I am super late in getting this thing out onto my blog... maybe I ought to set a deadline for myself? O-Kay! New rule! Ken will have his posts up and posted on his blog by noon on his blog days. What? Not good enough? WTF?!? I'm not a robot! Fie, fie, I'll have things posted by 10a at the latest. Good enough? Sheesh...

So last week I skipped out on all of my blog posts, and I did so intentionally. I wanted to keep that post up as a sort of reminder for the week for the loss that Invisible Children suffered. Today though, we start our new schedule! First things first though, here's the deal:

I have taken care of both my FAFSA AND my taxes.
My dear wife actually took the time to clean out the car! I s'ppose the next step is to vacuum it out?
I did in fact finish my RE digest.
I never finished Matthew. >< And that's my update. Check out more after the break.

Tuesday, July 13, 2010

One in 64 74

I suppose that I'll start this off running. For those of you that are not aware, on July 11th, two days ago, there was a twin bombing attack in the major city of Kampala, Uganda (News link). There were at least 74 civilian casualties, many of them westerners, including one American. Now then, the primary concern for this one American, aside from the usual, is that this is someone that some of us knew personally. His name was Nate, an he was killed in the bombings.

Why was he in Uganda? Well, for those of you that remember, he was part of the Invisible Children group that went on tour here in Tucson. After having toured so much, it would appear that he decided to make a trip out to Uganda to see the families of all of the friends he had made as well as have a chance to see the good that all of his work was accomplishing. It was his dream to visit Africa as is explained in the Invisible Children Blog.

My sister-in-law knew this man very well and has drastically been impacted by his death. My wife also felt the loss of his presence in this world when she found out. Thankfully, many others that were in Uganda are still alive and for the most part okay. This is a tragic time for a great number of people, and while I do look forward to seeing how this event will cause a ripple effect throughout the future, I will take this moment NOW, and remember. Remember why it was that Nate was in Uganda. Remember why Uganda was targeted. Remember Tony, and all of the other child soldiers that are still in the bush.

I can't hop a plane over there. I can, however, pray. I can pray for those affected by this disaster, and I can remember. I can do all that I can to ensure that Nate, Invisible Children, and all of the pain that resides in Uganda is never forgotten and that I do my part to make the dream of peace come true. I never had a chance to really talk a whole lot with Nate, however I know that he, along with the rest of those working with the Invisible Children of Uganda were striving towards a goal. Are striving towards a goal. This goal can become a reality, with my help, and with yours. Let's do all that we can, and never let his memory, and the rest of those that perished, fade.

-Ken

PS: For more information on Invisible Children simply visit their site at www.invisiblechildren.com/.

Kony will fall. The Children will be free. And then everyone must learn to see them again.

Monday, July 12, 2010

Magnificent Monday: 1 in 64, and Counting...

Monday, which means it's time to start the week of right, although it would appear that this week has already begun...

So, it's that time again. Where we take a moment to reflect upon how this past week went and continue on planning the coming week. However, today is a bit different. Today, there are 64 people at least that no longer have a tomorrow. That no longer have a chance to make plans for the coming week. Today is a particularly sad day.

I apologize to anyone who maybe looks forward to my posts for being so late. I will be making a special post tomorrow detailing the events of the past day or so. For now though I would very much like some rest. I apologize if this is bothersome, however I promise to make a more in depth and informative post early in the morning before some, if not most, of you are up, so the wait shouldn't be too bad. Until then, goodnight, and may God bless your night.

-Ken
[EDIT]: Added tags.

Wednesday, July 7, 2010

Gamer's Take: Real ID Dilemma

It's Wednesday, which means that it's time to allow my wild side out. That's right ladies and gents, I'm talking about my gamer side. I know, I know... Unleashing one's inner gamer can be a dangerous thing, but never fear! I am what some might refer to as an expert in this particular practice. Today I'm going to delve a little bit into the world of social gaming and where it seems to be headed.

Blizzard Entertainment, the makers of World of Warcraft, Diablo, and Starcraft, have recently developed a sort of online social network called RealID. RealID is essentially Blizzard's way of taking their games, all three of which either have or will have a large online user base, and connecting the three communities together in such a way that I am able to communicate with just about any RL friend, or online friend that's willing to surrender their e-mail to me, regardless of what game they are playing. It's a really neat concept actually, I can attest that the system does do wonders for keeping communication. I am able to chat with my RL friend online, while playing WoW even though he is on a different server and makes continuous jumps between all of his different alts. (Alt = Alternate character) It's really much better than logging onto his server and making a brand new character and leveling it all in the hopes that my friend will be on at some point during my adventures. So... it's been something that I've been looking forward to for a while now. However, unfortunately Blizzard has decided to up the ante a bit.

Tuesday, July 6, 2010

Magnificent Monday Tuesday: Second!

It's Monday Tuesday which marks the beginning of this week. Considering that yesterday was a holiday, I figure that the week really starts off today, so here we are! Let's get the week started off right.

Alrighty then, I hope that everyone had a wonderful Independence Day. I know that I had a chance to enjoy some tasty brats and see some fireworks with the wife and my friends. I wonder where abouts I'll be next year... No matter, let's get down to business.

First, an evaluation of how last week's goals went. I'm proud to say that I had a solid 60% success rate! That actually sounded better in my head... Anyhow, I did a fair job of exercising this past week, however it could've been a wee bit better. No matter! It's a new week! I'll be sure to pick up the pace in that area. Moving on, I have officially finished #18 on my Summer To Do List ! I am excited! I'll post some pictures when I get to a computer and snag them from my friends. The Wildcat beach party also went very well, I was rather lucky having walked in and received my free burger within about five minutes because someone else walked out. Oh well, their loss.

Now then, there's always a flip side to things. Last week I found out that Heidi's computer isn't under the extended warranty, so it'll cost about $300 to get it fixed even though it's a hardware malfunction on their part. >< Regardless, Heidi no longer has a computer, however we'll need to salvage her hard drive later, so that'll be fun. We also will be needing to save up for a new computer, although we're leaning towards a netbook for her. I also never got around to finishing my taxes, and thus my FASTA. Yeah, I know, I know. I've already set aside time to take care of it with Heidi though so it'll be done this week. And that about sums up this past week! This coming week I'm looking forward to a few things. 1. Finish my bloody taxes. 2. Finish a sequencing plate. 3. Do my RE digest. 4. Finish Matthew. 5. (This is a big one.) Clean out my car. So there you have it, my five goals of the week. It's game time. -Ken [EDIT]: Sorry about the late post, I tried posting from my phone and it didn't really go through or something.
[EDIT 2]: Also, posting from my phone seriously messes stuff up, I think I'll try to find another method of mobile posting other than through e-mail unless it's just an update or something.
[EDIT 3]: So... I guess this is my 100th post? Yay?
[EDIT]: Added tags.

Wednesday, June 30, 2010

Gamer's Take: E3 for Me!

And thus we begin our first segment of Gamer's Take, the slightly more official post of the week wherein I will talk about something that relates in some way to video games. I invite you to take a peek at your nearest gaming machine and give it a solid nod of encouragement. Be it your 360 or your little netbook you play flash games on. Let's do this.

Well now, isn't this nice. I can say whatever I want here really, so long as it in some way pertains to video games. Well, what better way to start such a topic off than to talk about E3 2010?

E3, Electronic Entertainment Expo for those not in the know, is an annual video game conference where all of the developers and big name companies showcase their latest and greatest. This year looks to be one of the best years yet in terms of gaming as there were several exciting announcements. Now since this is my own personal post, I'm really just going to go over what I thought was interesting or am really looking forward to. If you want more information feel free to check out the E3 website.

First on the list is, of course, HALO: REACH. (!!!!!!!!!!!!1)
HALO: REACH is the fourth and final installment of Bungie's HALO series (I don't really count ODST as a stand alone game) scheduled for release on September 14th later this year. It's set to be a prequel and will have an entirely new protagonist and the opportunity to see new Spartans in action. Oh, and did I mention that there are jetpacks???

Now for those of you who are unaware, HALO, is kinda my thing. I'm not gonna lie, when you think of HALO (assuming you are a part of DR), you think of The Ken. That's all there is to it. For crying out loud pwning scrubs in HALO3 is on my Summer To Do List! Needless to say, I am very excited about this game. So excited that I've already started a HALO: REACH fund (contributions welcomed) that has at least a dollar in it by now. I've also marked it on my gmail calendar with a three week in advanced reminder so that I can plan accordingly with my professors. Needless to say, I am prepared. MOVING ON!!! (Be honest, the little voice in your head shouted when it read that, didn't it?)

The next thing on my list of excitement is the Nintendo 3DS. Nintendo seems to have mastered the ability to have 3D without the need for any sort of fancy eyewear, ie: autostereoscopy. I simply cannot wait to get my hands on a demo version of the device, even though I'll need to wait for a bit as it won't actually be on the market until March 31st, 2011. However, people who have tested it thus far seem to like it a ton. It also seems to be able to play Hollywood movies in 3D such as "How to Train Your Dragon". For now, it looks extremely promising. I will most likely be starting a fund for this sometime in the near future as I become more decisive about what my gaming wishlist will be.

The final part of E3 that I am excited about was the two Star Wars games - Star Wars: The Old Republic and Star Wars: The Force Unleashed II. The ladder looks like it will be just plain fun and I am interested to see how the story plays out. The former on the other hand, just look plain awesome. The way that the different characters make use of their individual abilities makes me really wonder what the MMO will be like and how balancing will come into play.

Well that's it for me for today, if you've got some time to kill, and by some I mean like an hour or so, I'd recommend this silly little flash game, it's quite interesting imo.

-Ken

Monday, June 28, 2010

Magnificent Monday: Start!

Monday... Oh, Monday. What's in a name? That which we call a rose, by any other name would smell as sweet. And likewise, were it any other day that started the week, we would hate it just as much.

The fingertips of dawn steadily creeped through my window as the smooth voice of Adam Lazzara chimed from my phone singing Cute without the e. As each sense began taking it's focus, the smell of my wife's perfume, the dry taste of morning, the singing voice, the soft bed, and of course lastly, the sight of my wonderful wife sleeping.

At least, that's what I'd like to say, unfortunately the first thing I saw this morning was my cat's face upside down as she rubbed against my face in an effort to be pet.

And thus the morning began, and with it a brand new week. What's in store for this week? Time will tell, however here's my general understanding of things.

1. I will be exercising hopefully every morning this week save Saturday.
2. A very good friend of mine will be coming down this weekend to visit, I am sure that it will be quite fun considering we'll be knocking number 18 out on my Summer To Do List.
3. The last Wildcat Beach Party I appear to be participating in this week is this evening.
4. I'm going to finish up my taxes.
5. I need to get Heidi's computer sent in for maintenance.

And I'm looking forward to another exciting week!

-Ken
[EDIT]: Added tags.

Wednesday, June 23, 2010

Long Time, No See

So... It's been a little while since I've actually posted something of worth on here. I'm just going to go on ahead and say that I went on a vacation, and now I'm back! Kind of. Really though I kind of just burned out a little bit, then started to procrastinate... and then procrastinate some more.... and some more.

So, after some self reflection I've decided that the best thing to do is to set specific blogging dates. I'm rather fond of the whole Figure Fridays thing, so I think I'll keep with that. I'm thinking of doing something regarding my week's general plan on Mondays, or perhaps a motivational thing? Then for Wednesday I'm going to do a post regarding my video game experiences and what not. And I think I'll keep Figure Fridays. I like the name. Although for the summer I'm considering doing a double post on Fridays, one for the figures and another one that discusses my progress on my list. Perhaps I could make that a Monday thing? Plan out or evaluate my progress on my summer to do list?

I am very indecisive about this whole thing really. This is where you, my beloved and very few readers, a whole two I think, come in. What are your thoughts on the matter? Is 3-4 times a week too much? What about the topics? Would you like me to change one of the topics? How about adding a topic that's deeper? Let me know via comments and I'll be sure to take it into consideration!

-Ken

Friday, May 21, 2010

Friday Figures: Cat Space



The lights are out.
I blindly make my way to my side of the bed.
I get under the covers,
And go to lay down.
SUDDENLY!
The side of my face falls onto not a pillow,
but a soft, furry thing.
I hear a soft, "Meow."
I try to hold my breath, but to no avail! I let all of my air go in an exhale right before I sat my head down!
I breathe, the smell of litter and fur darts into my nasal cavity.
I feel it, the twitch in my eye... *twitch*...*twitch*twitch*...
I run to the medicine cabinet and dry swallow two benadryl, how soon until I feel their effect?
Not soon enough.... Next time cat, I shall have my vengeance!!! I swear I will sneeze ON you next time!!! *Ken falls back into the shadows*


-Ken

Friday, May 14, 2010

Ahhh!!! Friday Figures!!!

It would appear that DA KEN has lost track of the time and won't make his deadline for Friday Figures as I can't get to a computer in time. So... In the future I'll remember to post the figure when I wake up, look, I'll even set an alarm. See? Ok, well I didn't actually set one, but I will! Tomorrow, I promise. If I don't no doubt Lady Scarlet will get on my case, her or Robin Hood, that brigand.... Anyways, so here's today's figure!

lol

Behold! It's a stickman drowning! Alright Ladies and Gentlemen, that's it, I'm done, goodnight!

-Ken

Tuesday, May 11, 2010

Ken's Summer 2010 To Do List

Ken's Summer 2010 To Do List
1. Build a Marshmallow Gun.
2. Get into Combat Ready Shape.
3. Finish the Coffee Table that was started a year ago.
4. Finish the A.W.E.S.O.M.E. Calendar.
5. Compile a new music list.
6. Reconnect with WoW friends.
7. Finish BAC re-sequencing project in Lab.
8. Catch and eat my own fish.
9. Go Camping.
10. Go on a road trip.
11. Go hiking.
12. Come up with another phrase besides "I want to punch a small kitten" to describe my frustrations.
13. Cook 40 different types of dishes.[I actually have made about 20 dishes.]
14. Read 4 books in the bible of a sizable length. [Working on my third.]
15. Make a spear out of rocks, a stick, and some sort of nature made rope. [It was frickin' hot.]
16. Figure out how to make rope from natural materials.
17. Finish the SIGPoBarB facebook group.
18. Make a catapult.
19. Clear out the paperwork lying around the apartment.
20. Keep the apartment clean "not messy."
21. Start eating a regular set of meals.
22. Make the Bed every morning.
23. Beat Assassin's Creed 2.
24. Beat Assassin's Creed so I can get to Assassin's Creed 2.
25. Beat Borderlands while playing with someone at all times.
26. Don't become obsessive about leveling my Holy Pally.
27. Get back at the cat somehow for waking me up at 4am. (Spun her around really fast for like a minute and let her go. She walked into a wall.)
28. Bowl a score that is in some way respectable.
29. Pwn more scrubs in the HALO: Reach Beta.
30. Climb a tree of respectable size.
31. Get some new clothing.
32. Complete some sort of RL quest-chain.
33. Establish a workable and reasonable Blogging schedule.
34. Run around in circles out of joy that finals are over after my last final.
35. Play an epic game of The Floor is Lava! (I must be the one to initiate it or it doesn't count.)
36. Get a new Video Camera that doesn't suck.
37. Record my adventures.
38. Finish the Haiti Movie.
39. Finish the Haiti Thank You Notes.
40. Send out the Haiti Thank You Notes.
41. Build an indoor fort.
42. Prepare myself for the zombie apocalypse in some way.
43. Play DDR more.
44. Learn to (get better at) do a handstand.
45. Continue the search for my mother.
46. Pwn scrubs. (It's that important.)
47. Get a new car.
48. Set up a new budget for the 2010-2011 year.
49. Finish income taxes. (One of our W2s was lost in the mail, had to get an extension.)
50. Smile a lot.

This list is subject to grow whenever I really feel like it. I'm excited. ^.^

-Ken

Wednesday, May 5, 2010

I just pulled a 9 hour shift working on a research paper that I'm almost done with. I think I deserve to play a couple rounds of the HALO beta.

Thursday, April 29, 2010

Sooo... I've been on a graph kick lately... I'm sure I'll post something of substance eventually, but for now enjoy a graph regarding information I collected during my Men's Group.



-Ken

Tuesday, April 27, 2010

Phenomnomnom = the phenomenon of the Omnomnomnom.

Sunday, April 25, 2010

The Two More Weeks List

There's a often a lot of feelings that come along with the closing of a semester. For those of us that are students, it marks the end of a year to be followed by a three month hiatus of normal school life. For those of us that aren't students, well if you know any students well then this is a significant time period for you as well. Finals are right around the corner, going to class for the final few classes becomes increasingly difficult, the scent of summer with its hot breezes to run from and cool pools to swim in becomes entirely too enticing. The lust for freedom from stress becomes overwhelming. Some throw in the towel, some finish strong. I've done both to be perfectly honest. This time around, I'm hoping to be part of the latter group. I've got a final report due in two weeks, and a cell bio final on the same day. My project in my lab is on the brink of being successful. Everything is coming together. However, I can't just sit idle and wait for it to come to me. This past semester has taught me a lot about being idle. About waiting, biding your time, and waiting for the time to be right. About when it's good to be patient, and when it's not. About what it means to be busy. What it means to give something everything that you've got. What it means to work towards that goal, and maybe, just possibly, succeed. I've got two more weeks left of classes. Two more weeks of studying hard on top of my other classes for cell bio, working on and finishing my lab report, and completing my project in the lab I work in. Two more weeks of balancing academics with church with my social circle with my lab and with my marriage. Afterwards I might just have a good rest. But for now I must work and push through the exhaustion that I feel. "Don't ask for it, go out and win it on your own. Do that and you will succeed." - Renton Thurston, Eureka seveN. It's an interesting quote imo, and I like it. I think I'll keep it close to me.

-Ken

Friday, April 23, 2010

How Often Ken is Late





A Ken is never late, he always arrives precisely when he intends to.

-Ken

Tuesday, April 20, 2010

Rockband and Physics Homework from Last Night



The peak is where I realize what time it is. I very soon stop caring...

-Ken

Blame

Today I learned something. I can't go into too much detail, however I submitted a rather large sample to a facility for DNA sequencing. Now, when I got the results I was a bit surprised to find that every single part of my sample had failed. How could this of happened when I was sure that I had done everything correctly. I spoke with a friend about the situation and they suspected that something went wrong on the facility's end. So, I went to go find more information out. Upon speaking with them I came to find that there was a miscommunication somewhere and they had run the samples using the wrong settings, but before I ran to submit another plate, I requested that they re-run two of the samples with the proper settings to verify that the samples would work. They did as I requested and when I received the results I was once again surprised to find that although the DNA sequencing had worked, there was nothing but junk in the resulting sequences. It had failed. Now here is where things get tricky. I went to go speak with the facility and found some inconsistencies with their numbers. Thus later I was going to simply try and get the cost of the experiment refunded since it seemed that they messed up. I went to go speak with my PI and was surprised yet again by their response. They pointed out that I had never actually checked to ensure that the process would work in the first place, and thus it was not only possible, but likely, that something had gone wrong on my end. They also pointed out that, while human, it was not right nor logical to place the blame on the facilities as it is unlikely they made a mistake since they do what they do for a living. Not only that, but had they done the correct protocol, I would've simply received junk back anyways. Clearly, there is something that went wrong on my end. My mistake cost about $200, and my PI wasn't super happy about it, however they pointed out that it is vitally important that I learn everything I can from this mistake. And so I've thought about it a bit, and in truth I'll probably think about this for some time and take as much as I can away from it, and I've learned the importance of common sense first and foremost. I'd like to think that I'm good about not being rash, but in this case the opposite was disturbingly true.
Be logical. That's what I've taken from this. Break things down. Understand how everything goes together and deduce where the problem may lie.
Think ahead. Plan ahead, and plan for what might happen in the future. More importantly, determine how I will prove things. I honestly should've have ran a small sample first to make sure the process worked and as a control for comparison.
Think on the grander scope.
Learn everything you can from a failure, don't let it happen again.
Failure can be acceptable, so long as you learn from it.

These are all things that began to flood my mind. It has clearly been too long since I've self-reflected and now I've suffered the consequences. From here on, I'll do my best to do better and not be so rash.

-Ken

Saturday, April 17, 2010

So... I just checked the National Society of Leadership and Success UA chapter ballad and I'm the only one down for vice president....Looks like I might win it.

Friday, April 16, 2010

Spring Fling

This past Saturday I was assigned to work a cashier's shift for the Spring Fling carnival hosted by the UofA every year. Every club has to give members to help, and it's a great deal of fun. Anyways, I'd like to take a moment and rewind to cashier training. Roughly a week and a half before my designated shift, I had to go through cashier training (which makes sense) and learn all about the rules and what not. Well during the training, which was hosted and taught by none other than the events coordinator. During the training we were told that if we mouthed off to the field supervisors, then we would be fined, and that the field supervisors were plenty capable of handing those fines out. I asked, what seemed like a rude question at the time, "what do we do if our field supervisor's a dick?" The leader's response was that all of the field supervisors had done the event before and were to be trusted and that had personally interviewed each one. He also indicated that we were able to dispute claims, but implied that he'd probably take the side of the field supervisor.
Well, enroute to our booth, while the field supervisor had our cash in their bag, they proceeded to stop and deviate from the path to "say hi" to their friend. I was not happy, but hey, w/e right?
Nay.
My partner and I were forgotten. What do I mean by this? I mean that at 11pm, when the field supervisors went to go and release everyone from their booths, we were forgotten about and left behind for an hour or so. Not kool. Now, while there are any number of reasons as to why this happened, I'm wondering if the field supervisors were a bit too busy chatting with each other or with their friends and somehow lost track of the 4-5 booths they were in charge of. (Yes, 4-5, I asked during the training how many booths each field supervisor was responsible for.) So yeah... You be the judge. I'm still irked about it even a week later, although it is for the better that I waited so long, initially I was going to write a much more bitter post so... Yeah. I'm over it now, but boy oh boy was I upset. Hopefully my next post will be a bit more cheerful.
-Ken

Thursday, April 15, 2010

Jeans are like the Ditto of the fashion kingdom, lookin' good with just about everything. Also, that whole posting something, yeah... I forgot to make a note...

Monday, April 12, 2010

Well Cheerios, it's been a while since I've posted. I'll make it a goal to post something today.

Saturday, April 10, 2010

Lab Work

So... I determined something at roughly 2:30am while pipeting various primer stock solutions into matching tube for dilution. I determined that I really didn't mind that it was so late and that I was working on my project, in fact it was, while not necessarily fun, enjoyable to some degree. I think that I'm going to like doing research in the future.

-Ken

So... You know those guys that go for that "wrinkled clothes" look? I just realized that I pull that off naturally. Ha! Suck it posers! Messiness FTW!

Tuesday, April 6, 2010

Sometimes, I think to myself, how awesome it'd be to randomly be attacked by a (Fail) ninja.

Friday, April 2, 2010

Flashlights...

Is not what this post is actually about. I really just titled the entry that because I got to the title section, look down, and there stood a flashlight. I felt like it was fated to happen. Also. I've only just now realized the irony of the past couple sentences. Cuss. Oh well, anyhoo, today's post is brought to you by ZOMG! Ken is friggin tired but still has about four hours of stuff to do, must-get-out-of-bed... So... What's the moral of the story for today? It's simple: The plan don't work if you don't stick to it. And thus later you pay for it. Example: I should be doing my lab report right now, instead I will finish this post and then head to the movies to watch Clash of the Titans. Later, I will not be happy about this decision. Oh well... Guess ya can't change much in the way of fate. ;)

-Ken

Tuesday, March 30, 2010

Blogging Down

So something apparently went wrong with my Blackberry during my week long hiatus in Haiti and now I can't really access the network for anything internet based. Thus, my phone has been reduced to that of a brick phone. When the realization donned on my I had a little bit of a freak out. (though not as bad as this kid here. ) Considering though that I use my blackberry to compose around 80+% of my blogs, I haven't really been hashing out my blogs. Now I know that I said I would blog while in Haiti, and I did, sort of, but I haven't gotten around to posting any of it. Mostly because the blogging was really V-logging and I haven't had a chance to sit down and sift through 80GB of video to find my personal v-logs. When I do end up finding them though I will definitely edit them and get them up here ASAP, although I give forewarning that I wasn't exactly good about v-logging every night so there'll only be a couple. Also, concerning Haiti, I've set aside time this Saturday to sit down and put together a trailer for the movie I'm going to put together. Whether or not it'll be done by this Saturday is a different story, but I'll for sure post that here as well. And now I'm off to go and get materials for a new Stations of the Cross project. The point of this particular update is to note that I am probably not going to be posting daily until I get my blackberry up and running again, and what I've learned today is that I'm exceedingly dependent on technology. That's okay though. I can handle that. I can also make a fire in the wild if I need to... I think.

-Ken

Sunday, March 14, 2010

Take-off

Here's the thing about the past couple days, they've been stressful. What with the e-mails, and the last minute homework assignments, and the planning for the Haiti trip and San Francisco trip, I've been a bit busy. Remember that buffer I mentioned earlier? About having a few posts kind of ready to go so I don't miss any deadlines? Yeah, I never wrote them, I didn't think I'd need them. I was so very wrong. Anyhoo, stressful is the name of the game, though I suppose that having an upbeat attitude and finding some sense of enjoyment in the constant calls and e-mails and texts streaming to and from my blackberry. I felt like one of those wall street guys that you see in the movies that are constantly just walking around and doing something on their phone. Wanna know a little secret? I always kind of wanted to be that guy.

*gasp*

I think I know what you're thinking. Why would you, The Un-friggin-believable Ken, want to be one of those guys that is portrayed as having everything but having nothing? The guy that's usually a dick to everyone and you're happy when a man in a panda suit falls on him after a sky diving accident?

Well the answer is rather simple really, it's not that I was fond of his personality type or his ignorant thoughts of "I'm the best thing to happen to this world" (Take note that I don't just think I am, I know I am. There's a difference.) It was the concept that he was important. People wanted to talk with him (perhaps needed would be more appropriate here.) That's the thing I found attractive about being that guy.

Being put in charge of the Spring Break Planning Committee was something that I didn't think would be too difficult, especially since from the sounds of things in the past trips were put together the week before hand. I was positive that the responsibility given to me, though important, would be small. Consequentially, I didn't push too hard to even really begin meetings until late december for when we got back. I figured we could easily do the work of a week over the course of a couple months. Now, mind you, if I were to do this again I'd definately have done things differently. I would've begun meetings ASAP and ideally semester 1 would be all the planning and semester 2 would be all of the fundraising so we can get as many people to go as possible. But that's not what I did. I procrastinated. So when we met in January for the 1st or 2nd time soon after Haiti was devastated by it's earthquake, we were very ready to begin plans for Haiti since planning had just barely begun to get off the ground the change wasn't that difficult. Thus began our planning.

At first we had very little information, and it was not until the first week of February that we learned more information. Thanks to Ryan and his connections to Missions Door, we were able to communicate with Missions Door to set-up the trip. However, it soon became apparent that we would have to pay much more than for just the ticket since a large number of volunteers were showing up and going, "Here I am to help! I didn't really think things through though and didn't pack any extra things. Oh, and what do you have to eat? I'm starved!" Well needless to say this type of volunteer became much more of a burden than a help. So the goal was to be completely self-sufficient once we got there and during our trip there including food, water, and lodging. This was going to cost significantly more than the cost of the ticket with was sitting at around $700. So, we set our initial estimate at $1000 and began fundraising.

We set up a sign-up list to see who was interested and we brainstormed. Some ideas went through, some didn't. We needed to raise a lot of money in a very short amount of time. The three fundraisers that ended up going into action were: an Art Show, a Benefit Concert, and a Yard Sale.
The Art show was extraordinarily successful and managed to raise around $700. Ingrid was the person in charge here and with the help of many creative volunteers around the church the night was full of pieces to bid on. Kris, Tim, Rachael, and others spent a large amount of time in the wee hours before hand setting everything up. A major thanks to Expresso Art Cafe for being so awesome and letting us use their facilities for free AND doing a percentage night with us.
The Benefit Concert was also rather successful, and some talented artists and their fans had a chance to give their support to our cause. Colter was the person who concieved this and ultimately put it together along with all of the performers from each group. The final amount raised from the concert after venue fees was around $150. Thanks here to The Rock Cafe for hosting the event.

The Yard Sale was the last major form of fundraising and went off pretty well. People had a chance to do some early spring cleaning and donate to our cause. I believe the totals from the event was around $200. Ryan was the person in charge of putting this together and he did a great job. The actual event was run by Josh S, Renay, Jeremy, and a couple other people I believe. Thanks goes to Ryan and Liz for allowing us to use their carport as a marketing venue.

So there you go, those were most of the fundraisers. A couple weeks ago a table was set up on the mall that asked for donations, a huge thanks to those that assisted with that endeavor on such short notice. Even though not much was raised, every little bit counts and it was a great way to help boost morale and show dedication to the cause.

If you're good with math you'll notice that we didn't raise enough money to cover the expenses of everyone, thus people were responsible for their own fundraising. The primary method of fundraising in this respect was in the form of support letters. Letters that go to friends, family, acquiantances even. Simply posting an update on facebook asking if people wanted to get a letter was a huge boost for my wife and I. It was surprising to hear from people that we'd not spoken to in a very long time asking if they could get a letter. And here's the key to support letters. The goal isn't to get all of your money from 3-5 sources, the goal is to send out 100 letters and get like $20 from each person. It's not a huge amount, but it adds up fast. We had the money, now we needed a plan.

The thing about Haiti is that it was, and still is to a degree, chaos. There's very little infrastructure and what needed to be done wasn't exactly clear. So whereas at first we were told that we'd be in tents and probably be building latrines and that the cost was a $1000, I feel like it's understandable that within the last couple weeks the informations solidified into us staying in some sort of volunteers' facility with guards, rebuilding a secrity fence around a school and probably some of the school itself, and the costs jumping up to $1200. Now while understandable, it doesn't help those going as far as planning is concerned very much, especially when the price keeps jumping around between $1000 and $1500. It wasn't until a week ago that all of the information was truly solidified, and that's not because of anything else besides the fact that things over there are changing constantly and there is not exactly a huge gameplan where we fit into yet.

Now that pretty much brings me to where I am now. After shopping, packing, sending out countless e-mails, texts, and phone calls, and doing last minute assignments I'm 30,000 feet in the air on a rapid descent. It's sobering really that we've all made it this far and that we're all about to go on adventure.

Now, I'm supposed to be writing about something that I've learned today. Well instead, I'll note what I've learned from my experiences this far. Ultimately, I think I've accomplished my goals a little bit of being a good leader. At the same time I realized what the meaning of sacrifice is in terms of time a bit better, what it's like to be doing something for a good cause, the supreme amount of dedication that people can have when they put their hearts into it. I've made a number of mistakes putting this whole thing together, and to be perfectly honest I really feel like I did a bad job and didn't pull my weight. It's alright I suppose since everything worked out, however if things hadn't I don't know what I'd have done. I could have done a much better job of staying on top of communications than I did and for that I feel true regret. I'll be sure to do my very best in the future to stay on top of communications 100%. There were a couple other things I could've done better and I've taken note of them and am looking to change those things as best I can to become the best leader I can.

The thing is though, I really didn't make this happen. Sure, I hold the title of being in charge of the trip and all, but really it was those I worked with that made this whole trip happen. Thus I want to especially thank the following people:
-Ryan for being our contact person and doing a ton of research.
-Ingrid for the Art Show and her continued assistance on the planning committee.
-Colter for the Concert and his continued assistance on the planning committee.
-Camille for her assistance with the research and assistance on the planning committee.
-Kris for working herself too hard.
-David for playing and setting things up.
-Renay for helping to man and set things up.
-Josh M for helping to man and set things up.
-And countless others who've contributed, those are just the people that are off the top of my head.
These are the people that really deserve all of the credit for their hard work.

I'll most like be unable to really blog while in Haiti, but I'll still write and just send it when I get back to the states. Stay tuned and send us your prayers.

-Ken

Wednesday, March 10, 2010

Clubs

Clubs may be a bit overrated, but I will admit that they've got some sick sound tech and a damn good PL. Cheers!

-Ken

Tuesday, March 9, 2010

So little Time

So here's the thing, I've actually picked up around 5 posts worth of ideas today alone, however I can't very well post everything as that would be ridiculous. However, what that does mean is that I can make a few drafts and sort of release them, that way if I forget one day or simply don't have time, or I've got writer's block then it's alright. A buffer, of sorts. Now the thing that I've chosen to write about today is pretty simple actually, and again it's more of a discovery than anything else. (Note my precise usage of the words learn and discover, it'll do you good in the future.) Now semantics aside, I'd like to point out that I've noted that I am rather fond of word play. By that I mean that I find an uncanny sense of joy in having a verbal sparing match against someone, particularly over some sort of chat medium such as facebook chat or text messaging. Why this is I'm not really sure, but boy do I miss it. Perhaps it's because I'm not part of the high school emo kid crowd or whatever social group is "hip" these days, but I feel like I simply don't get as much of it as I'd like. Or, perhaps it's that my mental capacity has increased over the years and what seemed to be a fascinating duel of the states of words has now become no more than a boring bout of rabble. Perhaps I've simply gone blind and the words I see before me now are not the words I saw some years ago. Whatever the case, I've discovered that I am rather bored and that whenever I do manage to get into any sort of verbal spat I drag it out as much as possible. To those that have suffered such a fate, well, I'm sorry if I dragged it out, but thank you very much for participating. In some cases you well may have made my day. But hey! what can I say? I was having fun in a way that I tend to be a bit deprived in. I suppose that'll be all for today, I need to go and study for an exam.

-Ken

Doesn't Count

I'm not really counting this one for my blog of the day, but do you see these two men? At first glance they are in a business meeting. In actuality they are playing Medal of Honor. I take heart in this site.

-Ken

Monday, March 8, 2010

H3

Dear World,
Today's lesson was very short. Today I learned that I am still very much a BAMF in HALO3. 13 assassinations in KotH? Yes, please. Huh... that phrase seems awfully familiar.... I'm out.

-Ken

Reminiscence

What have did I learn yesterday? Well, it's more a matter of discovery, which is synomynous with learning. Thus, rediscovery is essentially learning, I digress though, what did I learn? That inevitably, one's heart is bound to be broken. It's a by-product of setting up unrealistic expectations and then being subject to the reality of the impossible. However, to simply leave on a plane of realism does not allow for any sort of dreaming, and without dreams and hope, life would have little to give.

-Ken

Saturday, March 6, 2010

Cold Feet

No, I'm serious. My feet are cold, enough so that I am contemplating going and putting on a new pair since I've already placed my old pair in my hamper. Decisions, decisions.... Blanket! Aha!

I digress.

Anyhow, today I'm going to keep it a bit short. So what's today's topic? Old friends. They're a great thing to have, they really are, because the thing is that no matter how much time has passed, you know that the friendship will remain in some way or another. That's honestly, the way we needs to be. Put your heart into your interactions with people and you'll implant your feelings into them rooted deep enough that should they ever forget the time you spent with them, when they are with you again they have that sense of knowing you because for a short time they got a feel for what your heart's like, and that is something that doesn't change.

-Ken

Friday, March 5, 2010

RL Skill-Up! Woot!

Ken has learned how to create a new item: Simple Electric Motor.
Engineering increased to 27.



-Ken

Technicalities

So... Technically it's one in the morning, however I'm going go ahead and state that I simply said that I'd blog once a day, and currently I am the gamer's timeclock. Meaning? Meaning that the day ends when I go to sleep and starts when I wake up regardless of the world's lighting conditions. Concerning what happens when I pull an all-nighter, the answer is simple, the day simply becomes a combination of the two days in the 6 hours between the two days starting at some point of reference. For example, if I stay up all night tonight, then from like 9:00 (when my first class is) till around 15:00 is considered to be Thur'Friday. The pronounciation of such contracts is not the topic of this post. Speaking of which, the thing I wanted to point out today is that I am truly thankful that I am capable of seeing in color. I was walking to class today, listening to some music, and the song All Around Me (Acoustic version) by Flyleaf came on as I walked through the rows of trees by Maricopa. Needless to say, it was a pretty awesome moment in time. Anyways, that's it, I'm tired, it's been a good day, make sure you stay away from psychos with fresh fruit.

-Ken

Send

[EDIT: So... Apparently, when I'm rather tired my cognitive functions drop slightly as I thought that typing send would send my post. For those of you who are technically challenged, this means that my post did not, in fact, get sent. So here ya go, I'm keeping the send in there for reference.]

Wednesday, March 3, 2010

Cuss the Cussing Cussers

Something that I've noticed over the past couple days is that the rate at which I swear has jumped up at an alarming rate. Now why this is, I'm not quite sure, however when I pointed it out Josh said that it might be because I am not playing WoW anymore. Now let me explain that remark by stating that although WoW is a fun game, it is also a very social game and thus my interactions with other random people is a bit more frequent. Said people aren't necessarily the brightest, and by not the brightest I mean in the sense of everybody thinks that they are the shit and that they could never be wrong and anything that goes wrong could never be their fault. These types of people, just as in real life, irritate me to an extreme. And when I say to an extreme I mean that I have scrub moments of reaching through my computer and punching them in the face. As a consequence, as an outlet for my anger, I tend to cuss. A lot. Thus the statement about me not playing WoW. Now obviously there's an flaw within my logic in that since I no longer play WoW I don't have to deal with those frustrations anymore. I say to you nay. That is not the case, in fact it is quite the opposite. You see, not spending my free time in WoW's virtual playground means that I have to deal real people who are irritating. However, unlike before there is currently no where for me to vent my nerdrage and thus I find the logic of my not playing WoW being related to my increase in casual cussing to be sound and valid. Now then, obviously this is not a good thing as swearing is offense (especially in the presence of a Lady) and does nothing as far as giving my intellect any sort of real boost. Thus I've decided that I would like to decrease the amount of cussing that I tend to do to a more reasonable level, namely to where it was before in the very least if not better. Now this is where you, my wonderful readers, come in. I would like to request that those of you who are readers, should your memory permit, to assist me in getting over this bad little habit of mine henceforth. Now if you are female, feel free to slap me if you so desire (gently please) and if you are a guy a punch to the arm will do (again, gently), however the most preferential method would be a simple reminder, but whatever floats your boat. I do appreciate the help everyone! (This is actually a pretty effective method, I tried it in high school when my swearing got out of hand and got over it in a week. Although, I did have one girl that would actually smack me when I did swear around her, I'd say that accelerated the process a bit.)

-Ken