Friday, April 16, 2010

Spring Fling

This past Saturday I was assigned to work a cashier's shift for the Spring Fling carnival hosted by the UofA every year. Every club has to give members to help, and it's a great deal of fun. Anyways, I'd like to take a moment and rewind to cashier training. Roughly a week and a half before my designated shift, I had to go through cashier training (which makes sense) and learn all about the rules and what not. Well during the training, which was hosted and taught by none other than the events coordinator. During the training we were told that if we mouthed off to the field supervisors, then we would be fined, and that the field supervisors were plenty capable of handing those fines out. I asked, what seemed like a rude question at the time, "what do we do if our field supervisor's a dick?" The leader's response was that all of the field supervisors had done the event before and were to be trusted and that had personally interviewed each one. He also indicated that we were able to dispute claims, but implied that he'd probably take the side of the field supervisor.
Well, enroute to our booth, while the field supervisor had our cash in their bag, they proceeded to stop and deviate from the path to "say hi" to their friend. I was not happy, but hey, w/e right?
Nay.
My partner and I were forgotten. What do I mean by this? I mean that at 11pm, when the field supervisors went to go and release everyone from their booths, we were forgotten about and left behind for an hour or so. Not kool. Now, while there are any number of reasons as to why this happened, I'm wondering if the field supervisors were a bit too busy chatting with each other or with their friends and somehow lost track of the 4-5 booths they were in charge of. (Yes, 4-5, I asked during the training how many booths each field supervisor was responsible for.) So yeah... You be the judge. I'm still irked about it even a week later, although it is for the better that I waited so long, initially I was going to write a much more bitter post so... Yeah. I'm over it now, but boy oh boy was I upset. Hopefully my next post will be a bit more cheerful.
-Ken

No comments:

Post a Comment