Wednesday, October 13, 2010

Ken's Take: Suit Up

So apparently it's International Suit Up day today and yes, I did in fact decide to participate. I actually have no idea what International Suit Up Day is about except that it's a day where you dress up in a suit. Aside from that I saw an event on facebook, though it'd be fun, and thus am now wearing a fairly decent suit while typing away at my lab. If you must know I am not slacking, I am working on a problem that is super frustrating for me and so am taking a moment to chill.

Here's the thing, I kind of suck as this whole posting consistently thing. I completely spaced out on Monday. I've made a note on my calendar to try and prevent it from occurring again, no promises though. So it's October... And it's starting to get cold. Already twice have I walked out into the night expecting to be swept up into a small bundle of warm blankets made of the desert's night air and instead received a not so delightful shock of cold air. Not kool. Air.... Not kool...

With colder weather approaching this inevitably means that the winter months are to be upon us in a short while. For example Halloween is a short while away (I'm going to be the Mad Hatter thank you very much.) and Thanksgiving and Christmas are just a bit after that. From here on we have at least one holiday per month to have fun. By comparison the spring months kind of suck. It's almost as if the guy in charge of holiday design (The Holiday Armadillo I would assume) said, "You know what? Winter kind of sucks on its own. Let's toss a bunch of holidays in there to make it suck less. And thus the tiny minority of people that actually enjoy winter were born. It's not that these people enjoy bad weather and biting cold, it's the association of some of the best holidays with the season that they really enjoy and thus they've associated the biting cold with presents. You are a sick person Holiday Armadillo.... a Sick Person...

Something else that's coming up here that I haven't had a chance to think about in a while is NaNoWriMo, which stands for National Novel Writing Month, ie: the month of November. During the month of November the goal is to write a 50,000 word novella. While daunting, in actuality it isn't that hard if you're persistent about it and write daily consistently. You can get away with about 2,000 words a day and be just fine. Now while it may seem like a lot, this post is around 500 words or so. It has taken me around 15 minutes to actually write this post (not including the time it takes to insert links and what not.) Thus, that basically breaks down to around an hour a day of writing. Can you do that? Could you write for an hour everyday? I'd imagine so. Most people can. However the problem occurs in the planning process. People get burned out, run out of time, etc. However, as the site so clearly puts it, it's not about the quality of what your write, it's about the quantity.

And so here is what I want to know. Who all would be interested in this sort of thing? I haven't tried it for quite a while, however in light of my recent work on drafting an outline and figuring out the content for a short story, I don't see why not. Here is what I am going to do. During the Month of November, every Saturday (except for the last week, that'll be on a Tuesday) I'll post what I've written for the week. I will, in fact, be writing the actual story that I've been working out since I had all of those crazy polls up a month or so ago. (I haven't actually written any part of the story, just worked on character design and a plot line.) Is anyone else going to take up the mantle and give it a try? If so, let me know, I think that it'd be great to get together on say... Saturdays or something and just hang out and write and run ideas by one another. Otherwise, I guess I had better finish up my outline soon. It's a good thing I'm wearing a suit today.

-Ken
[EDIT]: Added tags.

No comments:

Post a Comment