A rough journal about the interesting points in my life that I feel like posting about. Topics range from the odd to the dramatic to the dream I had last night due to bad pizza.
Wednesday, August 25, 2010
Ken's Take: The Guy in the Hat
And it's Wednesday, the third day of the new semester, and time to partake in a little ritual called reading about whatever Ken happens to feel like talking about. Today we'll be talking a little about the meaning of life as well as what it really means to be an art lover. Actually, that's not entirely true. I really just brought up the art thing to justify the comic above. It's from a site called xkcd. If you haven't taken a look at it, I really, really suggest it, you won't regret it.
So last post I talked a little bit about the concept of starting this semester off with a bang and really doing what you can to make this semester, well, not suck, or rather be awesome. Not sucking doesn't necessarily mean that the semester was awesome, just that it wasn't... sucky... Anyway, my point in bringing all of this up has to do with one thing. One simple little thing. My hat. I like my hat.
Now I don't know where you are located while you're reading this post, however, I am currently in Tucson, Arizona and let me tell you. It it friggin' hot. The past few days have been borderline miserable in terms of having consistently high temperatures plus humidity plus tantalizing clouds. Now in light of the fact that there is a strong abundance of sunshine in this area I decided to start wearing my trust ole hat. This is something that isn't exactly pleasing to the wife (for some reason she doesn't find it super sexy and awesome, but instead silly) but it keeps the sun out of my face and is pretty much the only umbrella I have. So, I've worn it for the past few days as I've been travelling a lot more around the campus in broad daylight as opposed to spending most of my time in my climate controlled lab. Now this, for me, is something that is rather practical an generally accepted as normal.
However, yesterday I spent some time procrastinating in my studies (figured I'd make the best of my time while I've still got some to kill) by playing a little HALO with some friends. One of them pointed out that since I've been wearing it since the first day of school, and will likely continue to wear it, people will likely have begun identifying me by it. I have, in essence, become the guy in the hat. Now for those of you unaware, my hat, is not your standard everyday baseball cap. It is, in fact, at least several thousand times more awesome. It helps that it's been to Haiti too. Anyways, all this to say that my hat is a bit distinctive, and thus now people have most likely begun to associate me with it.
Now here is my dilemma. What do I do about this? Is it acceptable to be known as the guy in the hat? The hat guy? Or whatever other random name they come up with? Has my hat officially become a part of my style and now I am incomplete without it? Considering that it's pretty much always sunny here I don't really need to worry too much about the use of my hat every really being impractical. It's either sunny or raining usually, and either way the thing is useful. So that pretty much settles the practicality aspect of this internal debate. I suppose though that maybe the hat fits me to a degree. I am, after all, a bit blunt when it comes to pointing things out, particularly if someone is being silly. Perhaps it is suiting after all? I mean, I am kind of a big fan of the man in the hat from xkcd for so many reasons, so perhaps I might be on to something.
Whatever the case is, I think that I'll keep my hat for a while longer. It's practical, and hey, if people identify me with it, well it's better that than this.
Have a good week everyone.
-Ken, The Guy in the Hat.
(Also offering tech support on weekends!)
[EDIT]: Fixed the xkcd link and formatting issues.
[EDIT]: Added tags.
Labels:
Ken's Take,
Wednesday
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment