A rough journal about the interesting points in my life that I feel like posting about. Topics range from the odd to the dramatic to the dream I had last night due to bad pizza.
Monday, August 30, 2010
Magnificent Monday: Bad Habits Rise Early
So... It's Monday again, which marks the beginning of the second week of school. I've already noticed a couple things, mainly that my procrastination has somehow resurfaced in full force. I should've followed rule #4 and double-tapped that sucker. Whatever though, have some listening music while you read. I think it'll be a nice way to start the day off, just imagine that the song's about you... or don't if you're a guy cause that's a bit weird.
So... That weird monstrosity that you see above is actually my google calendar. The green things at the top are my tasks, ie: homework and what not and the rest of it is... well stuff that I have planned. Okay, you caught me. I don't actually do any of this stuff. In reality I have a pet monkey named The Joe Joe that just kind of screws around on the computer all day. What you see is his current masterpiece.
Wednesday, August 25, 2010
Ken's Take: The Guy in the Hat
And it's Wednesday, the third day of the new semester, and time to partake in a little ritual called reading about whatever Ken happens to feel like talking about. Today we'll be talking a little about the meaning of life as well as what it really means to be an art lover. Actually, that's not entirely true. I really just brought up the art thing to justify the comic above. It's from a site called xkcd. If you haven't taken a look at it, I really, really suggest it, you won't regret it.
So last post I talked a little bit about the concept of starting this semester off with a bang and really doing what you can to make this semester, well, not suck, or rather be awesome. Not sucking doesn't necessarily mean that the semester was awesome, just that it wasn't... sucky... Anyway, my point in bringing all of this up has to do with one thing. One simple little thing. My hat. I like my hat.
Monday, August 23, 2010
Magnificent Monday: Server Restart
"The server will be restarting in 15...10...5...4...2...1..." When I see this message, the above reaction isn't entirely unheard of...
And it's Monday once again. I apologize for that reference, however I am sure there is a very select few of you (although it's not that difficult of a reference) that will find it humorous. Anyways, the whole server restart thing is because today, my dear readers, marks the first day of classes for the new semester. (At least here at the UofA)
What does this mean? Well, simply put, it's time for a bit of a change. It means that it's time to get up, get my boots on, and PWN. Summer's officially over, and Fall Semester is in high gear. Now today I would like to start off by evaluating my success from last week's final list.
1. I read all of this past week's XKCD comics plus today's.
2. I made a crockpot meal. However, its edibility is... questionable...
3. My Fall Semester 2010 To Do List is still in progress, I'm giving myself till the end of the week for this.
4. My short story so far is still in the drawing board stages. I started writing, however, I quickly realized that the characters will need significantly more depth to make the plot line work. So, I scrapped what I had and am making the characters just that, more in depth.
5. Well, school's starting and I'm just about as ready as can be, what with my pencil, notebooks, and other various items such as books and such.
Not too shabby in my opinion. I managed to at least touch base on just about everything. It seems that I nailed down the technique just as I stopped using it. Well I guess that's just how it goes. Maybe I'll make use of it later on. Let's talk a bit more about the outlook of the semester after the break.
And it's Monday once again. I apologize for that reference, however I am sure there is a very select few of you (although it's not that difficult of a reference) that will find it humorous. Anyways, the whole server restart thing is because today, my dear readers, marks the first day of classes for the new semester. (At least here at the UofA)
What does this mean? Well, simply put, it's time for a bit of a change. It means that it's time to get up, get my boots on, and PWN. Summer's officially over, and Fall Semester is in high gear. Now today I would like to start off by evaluating my success from last week's final list.
1. I read all of this past week's XKCD comics plus today's.
2. I made a crockpot meal. However, its edibility is... questionable...
3. My Fall Semester 2010 To Do List is still in progress, I'm giving myself till the end of the week for this.
4. My short story so far is still in the drawing board stages. I started writing, however, I quickly realized that the characters will need significantly more depth to make the plot line work. So, I scrapped what I had and am making the characters just that, more in depth.
5. Well, school's starting and I'm just about as ready as can be, what with my pencil, notebooks, and other various items such as books and such.
Not too shabby in my opinion. I managed to at least touch base on just about everything. It seems that I nailed down the technique just as I stopped using it. Well I guess that's just how it goes. Maybe I'll make use of it later on. Let's talk a bit more about the outlook of the semester after the break.
Thursday, August 19, 2010
Ken's Take: On Being a Gamer
Hello Everyone, it's Wednesday, and that means that it's time for Ken's Take! Today we're going to have some listening music while you read my delight writing, enjoy.
Here's the thing folks, being a gamer is hard. I'll wait while you stem your laughter for this is not a matter to take into light consideration! In today's modern age it is essential that the world understand how difficult gamers have it! In an effort to bring the world out of ignorance, I have composed a very useful top ten list of reasons why gamers have it rough these days. Here we go after the break.
Here's the thing folks, being a gamer is hard. I'll wait while you stem your laughter for this is not a matter to take into light consideration! In today's modern age it is essential that the world understand how difficult gamers have it! In an effort to bring the world out of ignorance, I have composed a very useful top ten list of reasons why gamers have it rough these days. Here we go after the break.
Monday, August 16, 2010
Magnificent Monday: Bad Habits
And it's Monday again. And I'm running late in my posting again. I feel like this is starting to become a bad habit. Take note please that I tried to find a decent picture of a bad habit. Instead for literally every kind of search I did this lolcatz pic showed up. On every, freaking one. So... I figured I'd let him have his spotlight.
Alright, let's get some things out of the way. Last week I was supposed to:
1. Finish the Coffee Table.
2. Play 20 songs on DDR.
3. Shoot and make 5 free-throws.
4. Figure out the dinner party thing.
5. Make a crockpot meal.
In actuality I:
1. Forgot.
2. Am too out of shape to do all 20.
3. Don't want to talk about this one. It was FAIL.
4. Thought about it a bit harder, failed to find a notecard, and then gave up.
5. Gathered the appropriate materials.
I did manage to:
1. Play Rockband for the first time in a while.
2. Finish 2 arcs of Starcraft II (The final protoss level is unreasonably depressing.)
3. See an amazing movie, namely Scott Pilgram vs The World. (I also have a new favorite celeb crush, it's the goggles.
4. Give a friggin' awesome presentation in my lab. Hurray Data!
5. Work on my story. (More on this after the link.)
Wednesday, August 11, 2010
Ken's Take: Pre-Gaming for Restaurants
Alright, it's Wednesday (or what's left of it) and that means it's time to give my personal opinion on the workings of the world. If you must know why I am so late in my post, I took the day off from work yesterday, and thus my days are completely screwy. I was under the impression for most of the day that it was Tuesday and that I'd be able to write my post later. Alas, I was mistaken, and am now posting a few measly hours before my deadline...
Alright, so... something I've learned this evening is that I need to pre-game when I go to hang out at the local pub. What do I mean by pre-gaming? I mean food! Food, the life giving substance of our days...
...
That was poorly worded.
...
Anyways, I've come to find that when I go out, I tend to go out when I've not eaten pretty much all day. What does this mean? Well it means that whenever I get to where ever I'm going, I have a tendency to order something that is rather large and certain to sate my appetite. However, usually do to a lack of food throughout the day, my stomach is not at its max elasticity and thus I am unable to finish my meal or I do and then have a stomach ache afterwards. Thus, I've decided that maybe it's time that I start pre-gaming restaurants. Any thoughts on the matter? Good idea? Bad Idea? Possibly a good idea depending on the circumstances? Let me know.
-Ken
PS: Sorry for the briefness of the post, but I'm a lil busy preparing for my new post this Saturday. =)
[EDIT]: Added tags.
Alright, so... something I've learned this evening is that I need to pre-game when I go to hang out at the local pub. What do I mean by pre-gaming? I mean food! Food, the life giving substance of our days...
...
That was poorly worded.
...
Anyways, I've come to find that when I go out, I tend to go out when I've not eaten pretty much all day. What does this mean? Well it means that whenever I get to where ever I'm going, I have a tendency to order something that is rather large and certain to sate my appetite. However, usually do to a lack of food throughout the day, my stomach is not at its max elasticity and thus I am unable to finish my meal or I do and then have a stomach ache afterwards. Thus, I've decided that maybe it's time that I start pre-gaming restaurants. Any thoughts on the matter? Good idea? Bad Idea? Possibly a good idea depending on the circumstances? Let me know.
-Ken
PS: Sorry for the briefness of the post, but I'm a lil busy preparing for my new post this Saturday. =)
[EDIT]: Added tags.
Monday, August 9, 2010
Magnificent Monday: Decision
It's Monday, and that means it's time for my weekly update to kick the week off right. Let's try and be a little inspirational here so that the week sucks a little bit less because, let's be honest here, that's why you're reading this now. Isn't it? Freaked out are you? Don't worry too much about it, it's a little something I've got called mind control.
Now then, here's the thing. There are some weeks that I just completely fail at what I planned on doing. However, instead of following through with these plans often I find that I spend my time doing something else that is usually pretty awesome. Now I am determined to prove that I do not simply choose not to do things and that in fact my life is very busy! How will I do this? I don't know. A little help there would be nice. Maybe a collage or something...
So I've decided to be positive about how I go about this whole update by the number thing, so here we go:
1. I finished Matthew.
2. The Super Complex Dinner Party Mystery is in fact done. However, I am yet to find a medium to properly translate my amazing thoughts into reality.
3. I did a set of push-ups the other day.
4. UofA is just plain silly sometimes. Also, so is the Spanish department sometimes.
5. Sleep is over rated. Starcraft, WoW, HALO, and writing outlines for short stories is not.
That wasn't so bad. I kind of like this whole "be positive" thing. Now then, for this next week, here are a few things that I'd like to get done:
1. The Coffee Table.
3. Play 20 songs on DDR.
5. Shoot and make 5 free-throw shots.
7. Find a medium for my awesome, amazing dinner party mystery.
11. Prepare a meal in my crockpot.
There we go, those are my goals for the week. Are they too simple? Maybe. But they're easy to do. I like them. And actually, I think it's time I gave you more of a reason to be reading this thing besides my extreme awesomeness. I am giving you all a task.
If you're reading this, I'll assume you want to participate, so let's get started.
Choose one of the following to do over the course of the next week:
1. Give 1 compliment to someone different each day. (7 days, 7 compliments, 7 people.)
2. Perform a random act of kindness for a stranger.
3. Do something that is better for your health.
Let me know how it goes in the comments section, I'd love to hear about it.
Have a Smashing Week!
-Ken
[EDIT]: Added tags.
Wednesday, August 4, 2010
Ken's Take: Time for an Upgrade
So as it turns out, the buses throughout the city are on strike. Found this out after working for 2 hours to get to my lab. Yeah... I gotta start listening to NPR on a more regular basis...
So... I recently celebrated my 2 year anniversary and my wife, the awesome woman that she is, got me Starcraft II as a gift.
Am I Excited? (I capitalized the E because it looked weird otherwise.)
Immensely.
Tuesday, August 3, 2010
Magnificent Tuesday: 2 Years + 1 Day
I knew it. I knew this day was coming. The day where I'd need to post, but have no back up and thus inevitably miss my posting deadline. *sigh* Will this teach me to have back-up posts? Maybe. Maybe not. Maybe I've scheduled some time and we'll see what comes of it...
So for those of you unaware, yesterday was my two year anniversary. Consequentially, I spent the majority of the day hanging out and spending some time with my lovely wife and thus spent little to no (emphasis on the no part) time blogging. Let's hope that this is the last magnificent Tuesday we have. For those of you who still hold some sort of grudge, I will try to win back your good graces by pointing you to this site. If cute and cuddly pictures of kitties doesn't sway you, well then, may ceiling cat help you.
So for those of you unaware, yesterday was my two year anniversary. Consequentially, I spent the majority of the day hanging out and spending some time with my lovely wife and thus spent little to no (emphasis on the no part) time blogging. Let's hope that this is the last magnificent Tuesday we have. For those of you who still hold some sort of grudge, I will try to win back your good graces by pointing you to this site. If cute and cuddly pictures of kitties doesn't sway you, well then, may ceiling cat help you.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)



