Wednesday, December 29, 2010

Ken's Take: Key Moments

Picture by The Ken with his Samsung Transform using Vignette
And it's Wednesday, which means it's time for a lil something from Ken. I bet you were thinking, "It's getting kind of late, I don't think Ken's going to post." Well, BAM! There here yea go!

So I was browsing lists of animes, as I often do this time of year, looking for a new series to watch since most of my current ones are/will be finishing up when I had a revelation. I've watched a lot of frickin anime. All of the recommendations off of the ones I've been watching I've seen already, it's like I've come full circle. Maybe I'll re-watch one? I don't really follow any blogs or anything and I can't read any form of Japanese so I'm pretty much in the dark until new shows start popping up. I know I need to watch Darker than Black, so that's at least on the roster as well as Dragonball Kai. But aside from those, that's about it. Considering I'm usually following around 5-6 at a time (relax, it's like 20 minutes an episode cause I don't have to watch commercials and I can skip the intros and end credits) only having 2 is not really that comforting. I'm sure I'll come across something, the question is what? I'm looking forward to it though, whatever it is. Although highly idealized and often ridiculous, I think it's interesting that you can find some genuine thought provoking concepts in animes that aren't at all designed as such.

Tuesday, December 28, 2010

Magnificent Monday Tuesday: The 3am Post

Picture by The Ken via his phone.
And so it's Tuesday, and an early one at that. I got home pretty darn late Sunday night and didn't feel like blogging, then Monday was pretty much a no go, so I opted to not blog instead of doing a really crappy one. As such, I am now writing this post and boy oh boy do I have a way to start the week off.
So, first off let me say that everything is just fine, however I'm currently sitting in an ER room next to my wife who became rather ill over the course of the day today (yesterday?) It's looking like a pretty bad case of a stomach bug, but after some stomach meds and a little bit of morphine she seems to be feeling pretty good. I'm not gonna lie though, I'm pretty sleep deprived right now having only gotten around 5 hours of sleep from Friday to Saturday, 6 hours from Saturday to Sunday, and another 6 from Sunday to Monday. I'm now going on my 17th hour of no sleep for the day and let me tell you, I should have gotten some damned seep last night when I had the chance. Maybe this'll give me the motivation I need to get to sleep in a timely manner each night. The fact that maybe, just maybe, I'll need to pull an all-nighter the net day.

Wednesday, December 22, 2010

Ken's Take: It's Beginning to Look Kind of, Sort of Like Christmas...


As you can see here, there is a key time during the Christmas rush when you should do your Christmas shopping. Exactly 5 days prior to Christmas, i.e. the 20th of December,there is a temporary lull in the stupidity of pedestrians where the level of driver stupidity surpasses that of the pedestrian. It is during this time that you are less likely to be at fault if a car ends up hitting you and thus have your presents scattered about the parking lot. Take note that this does not decrease the chances of being actually being hit by a car during this time. That statistic is much too severe to even be mentioned.

It's Wednesday, and in three more days, four if you count today, a large number of the population will be taking part in a tradition wherein members of the family gather together in order to exchange gifts. It is currently speculated that the exchange of gifts has the dual purpose of an acknowledgement of peace between parties, often between members of different families, and as some method of conditioning for the offspring by correlating the number of presents with obedience of the child. It would also appear that parents use this time to teach their children the power of Big Brother through a being named Santa Clause who can, and will, break into your home and knows full well throughout the course of the year what kind of person you've been through extensive surveillance. However, in order to reinforce a positive image, parents dictate that Santa is a good thing because he brings you presents. This, ladies and gentlemen, is why I will not be doing the whole Santa thing with my children.

Monday, December 20, 2010

Magnificent Monday: Maturity?

Picture by Wonderlane via Flickr.com

And so it's Monday, yet again. Always. Monday. I kind of feel bad for Monday really. It gets the crap end of the stick when it comes to the work place. I feel like Mondays should be given some sort of compensation for starting off the work week. Like a siesta or something. That'd be cool.

After reviewing my previous post on Wednesday, I realized what an interesting thing. My post was actually more than just random, humorous gibberish. It actually held some amount of usefulness. I think... I think this may be a sign that my writing has begun to... to... mature ever so slightly...

Wednesday, December 15, 2010

Ken's Take: Balance Grasshopper

Picture by Hamed Saber via Flickr.com
"Hey Ken! Where was the post from Monday? I thought you said you were going to be more consistent?" Well, I am being consistent, I'm keeping the balance. Remember the Ken's Take that I gave a day off at the beginning of the month? Yeah? Well, after that Magnificent Monday wanted a day off too, so I was a bit obligated to oblige. "You forgot, didn't you?" Silence! I kill you!

And so, it's Wednesday again. If you absolutely must know why I did not post on Monday, it's because, well... I may or may not have gotten the new expansion for WoW, i.e. Cataclysm. (In case you're wondering, no, the graphics are not that good in the actual game. And thank goodness for that because I think that my computer would have a hernia trying to play the content.) So... I got a little pre-occupied Sunday evening. Oh yeah, that's when I write these posts btw, (or try to at least) the night before as a general rule of thumb. That would be why they are posted at 6:00 am (again, at least they should be.) If you thought that I woke up at 5:00 am just to write a post for you, well then, you were mistaken. Although, not out of the realm of possibility, there are only three real reasons for me to be up that early.

Wednesday, December 8, 2010

Ken's Take: It's a Holly Jolly-OMG SANTA'S COMING!!!!

(Photo by kevindooley via Flickr.com)

It's Wednesday, and that means it's time for that post. The one that shows up to your Halloween party in khakis and a a t-shirt that has "Unfrigginbelievable" spelled out on it and calls themselves the god of PNWage. The one that you talk to at the water cooler with certain sense of respect because you know last Saturday it beat the living crap out of someone at a certain club that you go to. The one that will happily supply you with a kitten and a pair of boxing gloves after a bad break-up. The one that will always be there, whether you want them to be or not, watching your back, in a "I just wanted to test out my new night vision goggles and I thought you'd understand" sort of way. That post.

Today's title was inspired by two things: this clip, and the fact that the holiday season has officially kicked in. How do I know this? Well, simply put, I noticed that my neighbors put up Christmas lights and tinsel. That's about it. ... Oh! And Starbucks has their Christmas-y (Christmas-ee? Christmas-ie?) drinks out now, and thus the holiday season was been born out of wedlock between a surge of consumer spending and corporate marketing. Honestly though, 'tis the season to be jolly. It really is! It also happens to be one of the only times I can say 'tis without getting weird looks. And during this marvelous season we are reminded of the things that matter through: Santa, gifts, in-laws, eggnog, and any other assortment of items only really available during this time of year.

Monday, December 6, 2010

Magnificent Monday: Magnificent Fail

It's Monday again, and that means that it's once again time for one of those posts. You know what I mean that post. The one that brings you coffee and the comic section of the paper in the morning. The one who will point out your new hair cut and compliment you on it. The one that will offer to be Tails during Sonic the Hedgehog 2. That post.

So.... It's December again, and that means I'm going to be picking up the mantle of posting again. "But Ken, you could have posted something on the first, it was a Wednesday after all." Yes, yes, I'm very aware of the fact that I could have posted then. But when I went to, the section of my brain that processes Ken's Take basically gave me the finger and told me to F off. And so... I decided to start with Monday. So let's begin with an update: