A rough journal about the interesting points in my life that I feel like posting about. Topics range from the odd to the dramatic to the dream I had last night due to bad pizza.
Monday, September 27, 2010
Magnificent Monday: Unannounced Leave of Absence
It's Monday, and that means it's time for yet another exciting week of life. Some of you may be asking, "Ken, what happened? Where did you go?" Well my friends, to be perfectly honest, I just kind of fell apart. But I'm back up and running again and next time I take an extended hiatus I'll be sure to let you guys know about it.
Today I met a girl riding the bus on the way to class. I'll spare her name, however I eventually came to find out two things:
1. She was 14.
2. She had just gotten kicked out of her house.
I was surprised by this information to say the least. Luckily, from what I can say, things look like they'll work out just fine for her. She's got a network of support from friends and others that are willing to support her.
I just thought that it was an interesting way to start off the week, meeting this person. It was a bit of a reminder of where I've come from. Something that seems so far away. I'm glad that I've had the opportunity to remember. Recently, I've been rather unmotivated. I don't have a just cause to rally myself behind. I don't have a solid dream to chase after. And honestly, it's all a lot of hard work.
However, I suppose it builds character. Life isn't easy is it? It'd be nice if it were. But damn, wouldn't that be boring? I guess from here I suppose my goal will be to simply do my best. I don't think one could ask for anything more than that.
And so for you, my dear readers, I entice you to do just that this week.
Do your best. In everything. Whatever it is, if you decide to do it, give it all you've got. Give it your best damn effort and pray it's good enough. And if it's not, then get better. Become stronger. Stand up, and run. Run towards tomorrow and another week. I'll be right there with you.
-Ken
[EDIT]: Added tags.
Tuesday, September 14, 2010
Magnificent Monday: Error 404
Today is Monday. Tomorrow is Tuesday. Tuesday, the 14th of September. The release date of HALO:Reach. For those of you not in the know, this is my thing. I've spent the past 24 hours doing homework and preparing enough time to play this game. I'm currently at Best Buy on Broadway Blvd across from Park Place Mall waiting in line for the midnight release. So... I apologize to my readers for the lack of a Monday posts today, although this counts technically I suppose. Also, I apologize for the Wednesday post in advanced, just in case. See you on the far side.
[EDIT]: I gots it!!!! It comes wit Swordz!!!!!!!!
[EDIT 2]: Added tags.
[EDIT]: I gots it!!!! It comes wit Swordz!!!!!!!!
[EDIT 2]: Added tags.
Tuesday, September 7, 2010
Magnificent Monday Tuesday: Labored Movement
Today is Monday Tuesday, and that means that it's time to start the week off. Well, at least the rest of it since it's already kind of late. Yesterday was Labor Day, and thus, in accordance with the national holiday, I held off on posting. Yeah... that's exactly what happened... Um... Have some listening music!
Yesterday was the Damascus Road Volley Ball Tournament, which my team won (GO TEAM GOKU!), and let me just say that playing in sand is way harder than I remember it being! Truth be told my feet are still sore. But hey, it was a lot of fun and super worth it in my opinion. Although it got me thinking about what kind of physical shape I'm in. The honest answer: not good.
This got me thinking a little more about why that was. Why was it so difficult to work out from time to time? Do I not have enough time? This, it would seem, was the best answer, but then again my physical health should be a high enough priority on my list to warrant a time slot in my schedule. Perhaps it is a problem of motivation? For me this very much seems to be the case as I'm sure it is for many others. Where's the motivation? I mean, there are all sorts of reasons people throw in.
-Be healthier.
-Look better, slimmer, fitter.
-Sports.
-Etc.
For me though, the best motivation is probably combat. The idea that maybe one day I'll have a need to be physically fit. Up until this point though, logic has dictated that this simply is not the case. At least, that's what I use to justify my reasons. But alas, the time has come to do away with this type of reasoning. A friend of mine has recently moved into town and I know that if I am to survive any amount of sparring with him, I will need to be physically fit, else it might mean getting a whack to the face with a bokken.
So I suppose my question for the week is, do you work out and stay physically fit? If so, what's your motivation? If not, why don't you?
Have a healthy week!
-Ken
[EDIT]: Added tags.
Yesterday was the Damascus Road Volley Ball Tournament, which my team won (GO TEAM GOKU!), and let me just say that playing in sand is way harder than I remember it being! Truth be told my feet are still sore. But hey, it was a lot of fun and super worth it in my opinion. Although it got me thinking about what kind of physical shape I'm in. The honest answer: not good.
This got me thinking a little more about why that was. Why was it so difficult to work out from time to time? Do I not have enough time? This, it would seem, was the best answer, but then again my physical health should be a high enough priority on my list to warrant a time slot in my schedule. Perhaps it is a problem of motivation? For me this very much seems to be the case as I'm sure it is for many others. Where's the motivation? I mean, there are all sorts of reasons people throw in.
-Be healthier.
-Look better, slimmer, fitter.
-Sports.
-Etc.
For me though, the best motivation is probably combat. The idea that maybe one day I'll have a need to be physically fit. Up until this point though, logic has dictated that this simply is not the case. At least, that's what I use to justify my reasons. But alas, the time has come to do away with this type of reasoning. A friend of mine has recently moved into town and I know that if I am to survive any amount of sparring with him, I will need to be physically fit, else it might mean getting a whack to the face with a bokken.
So I suppose my question for the week is, do you work out and stay physically fit? If so, what's your motivation? If not, why don't you?
Have a healthy week!
-Ken
[EDIT]: Added tags.
Wednesday, September 1, 2010
Ken's Take: Nothing Ultimate about Ultimate Frisbee
It's Wednesday and the Ken is feeling a bit under the weather today. Thankfully I had a chance to sleep in and got an extra few hours of sleep, however it does not seem to have been enough to cure me. Instead of a picture today, I figured I'd treat you all to a little something extra since I'm running late again today. Enjoy.
Ultimate, also known as (a.k.a.) Ultimate Frisbee, is a sport that is widely known as being many things ranging from tiring, to long, to boring, to a trademark ripoff. However, today I want to discuss the nomenclature of this sport. Join me after the break to hear my case.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
